Tags

, , , , , ,

Granite is tough. It is a felsic rock underlying much of earth’s crust, almost like a foundation for the less resistant sedimentary layers above. This rock takes its time; the individual crystals that you can see in it are proof of that. If it had formed rapidly, there would be no crystals. The larger the crystals, the more time they had to form.

The wisdom to learn from granite is patience in finding balance. When our lives are unhealthy in some way, they become unbalanced. We feel it, but often times are too busy to sit down and really think about what it is that’s causing us to be unsettled. More often than not it’s something in our underlying routing that’s to blame– something in our foundation. Finding your balance is all about having a strong foundation. If you don’t have that, you won’t have a leg to stand on!

When I look at granite, I’m reminded that if my foundation is strong, the rest of me will be as well. If it is weak, everything will crumble away right out from under me. So I must ask myself: “What am I putting my faith in?” You may have heard the verse from Matthew that talks about the men who build their houses on different foundations: One on a rock and one on the sand. Guess which one survived the storm? Let your faith be your foundation, and let your foundation be as granite.

Spirit of Granite

Bubble rock is located in Acadia National Park in Maine. It’s actually a fair amount bigger than the rock in the scene, but the idea is basically the same; it’s a giant bounder poised on the edge of a cliff, looking for all the world as if it would like nothing better than to plunge over the side with the next errant breeze. It looks as if it’s in a constant state of uncertain doom, yet try and budge that fellow and you’ll see just how stable it really is. It’s not going anywhere. It has found its balance.

Bubble rock was dropped on the edge of its cliff by an indifferent glacier as it was passing through. Glaciers are always doing that- dropping things. they really are quite messy creatures 🙂

(Fun fact: I tried out this pose after I finished painting just to see if it works balance-wise, and it does! I was a little skeptical so I’m glad it panned out. Wouldn’t that be funny if my painting on balance wasn’t really accurate…)

